Clerk Workshop Instructors

Meet our clerk workshop instructors – experienced congressional staffers from both sides of the aisle, who have conducted oversight investigations in a variety of roles.

Meet the Clerk Workshop Instructors

Each clerk oversight training workshop is taught by two or more former or current congressional clerks representing both parties with years of experience. The instructors below have led one or more of the oversight training sessions for congressional clerks.


Elise Bean, director of the Washington, D.C. Office of the Levin Center for Oversight and Democracy, with nearly 30 years of investigative experience working for Senator Carl Levin (D-MI)


Michael Baker, former Republican chief clerk with eight years of experience at the House Ways & Means Committee.


Kiley Bidelman, Republican Chief Clerk for the House Committee on the Judiciary, and formerly with the House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform.


Sharon Davis, current Democratic chief clerk with over 25 years of experience at the House Energy & Commerce Committee.


Laura W. Kilbride, current nonpartisan Chief Clerk of the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee, with over ten years of clerking experience at the committee.


Mary Robertson, former nonpartisan chief clerk with nearly 40 years experience at the Senate Permanent Subcommittee on Investigations.


Laura Rush, former nonpartisan chief clerk of the House Committee on Oversight and Reform for nine years and, before that, a senior clerk at the House Foreign Affairs Committee, for a total of 30 years clerking experience.

Amy Stratton, Deputy Chief Clerk of the House Committee on Oversight and Reform since 2019. Before that, Amy was the Howard County District Manager for Congressman Elijah E. Cummings (D-MD) for over 10 years.