## UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA

DR. RALPH DE LA TORRE, M.D., Plaintiff, v. BERNARD SANDERS, in his capacity as Chairman of the Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions of the United States Senate, *et al.*,

Defendants.

Civil Action No. 1:24-cv-02776-TNM

## **DEFENDANTS' MOTION TO DISMISS**

Defendants U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor, and Pensions, Chairman Bernard Sanders, Ranking Member Bill Cassidy, and 18 other Members of the Committee – Senators Patty Murray, Robert P. Casey, Jr., Tammy Baldwin, Christopher Murphy, Tim Kaine, Margaret Wood Hassan, Tina Smith, Ben Ray Lujan, John W. Hickenlooper, Edward J. Markey, Susan M. Collins, Lisa Murkowski, Mike Braun, Roger Marshall, Mitt Romney, Tommy Tuberville, Markwayne Mullin, and Ted Budd – through undersigned counsel, hereby respectfully move the Court, pursuant to Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 12(b)(1) and 12(b)(6), to dismiss plaintiff's complaint for lack of jurisdiction and failure to state a claim upon which relief can be granted. In support of the motion, defendants respectfully refer the Court to the accompanying Memorandum of Points and Authorities.

Respectfully submitted,

<u>/s/ Morgan J. Frankel</u> Morgan J. Frankel, Bar #342022 Senate Legal Counsel Patricia Mack Bryan, Bar #335463 Deputy Senate Legal Counsel

Thomas E. Caballero Senior Assistant Senate Legal Counsel

Vivian M. Rivera Assistant Senate Legal Counsel

Office of Senate Legal Counsel 642 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510-7250 (202) 224-4435 (tel), (202) 224-3391 (fax)

Dated: November 26, 2024

Attorneys for Defendants